Karnataka's Jnanpith Awardees

The Jnanpith Award (also spelled as Gyanpeeth Award) is a literary award in India. Along with the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship, it is one of the two most prestigious literary honors in India. The award was instituted in 1961. Eligibility is restricted to any Indian citizen who writes in one of the 22 languages listed in Schedule Eight of the Indian constitution. It is presented by the Bharatiya Jnanpith, a trust founded by the Sahu Jain family, the publishers of the newspaper ‘The Times of India’.

Here are the list of Jnanpith Awardees from Karnataka

  • 1. K.V. Puttapa (Kuvempu) : in 1967 for Ramayana Darshanam
  • 2. Da.Ra.Bendre : in 1973 for Naaku Tanti
  • 3. Dr.K. Shivaram Karanth : in 1977 for Mookajjiya Kanasugalu
  • 4. Masti Venkatesha Iyengar : in 1983 for Chikkaveera Rajendra
  • 5. V.K. Gokak : in 1990 for outstanding contribution to Kannada literature
  • 6. Udupi Rajagopalacharya Ananthamurthy : in 1994 for the Kannada language
  • 7. Girish Karnad : in 1998 for his contributions to literature and theater
  • 8. Dr. Chandrashekar Kambar : in 2011 for his contribution to the literature field.

  • Click on the image for full view

    Gyanapeeth Award Kannada

    In Kannada


    Govinda Pai & G S Shivarudrappa

    Govinda Pai & G S Shivarudrappa

    Leave a Reply