Karnataka State Educational Profile

As of March 2013, Karnataka had 60036 elementary schools with 313008 teachers and 8.39 million students, and 14195 secondary schools with 114350 teachers and 2.09 million students. There are three kinds of schools in the state, viz., government-run, private aided (financial aid is provided by the government) and private unaided (no financial aid is provided). The primary languages of instruction in most schools are Kannada apart from English, Urdu and Other languages. The syllabus taught in the schools is by and large the state syllabus (SSLC) defined by the Department of Public Instruction of the Government of Karnataka, and the CBSE, ICSE in case of certain private unaided and KV schools. In order to provide supplementary nutrition and maximize attendance in schools, the Karnataka Government has launched mid-day meal scheme in government and aided schools in which free lunch is provided to the students. A pair of uniforms and all text books is given to children; free bicycles are given to 8th standard children. Statewide board examinations are conducted at the end of the period of X standard and students who qualify are allowed to pursue a two-year pre-university course; after which students become eligible to pursue under-graduate degrees. There are two separate Boards of Examination for class X and class XII. There are 652 degree colleges (March 2011) affiliated with one of the universities in the state, viz. Bangalore University, Gulbarga University, Karnataka University, Kuvempu University, Mangalore University and University of Mysore . In 1998, the engineering colleges in the state were brought under the newly-formed Visvesvaraya Technological University headquartered at Belgaum, whereas the medical colleges are run under the jurisdiction of the Rajiv Gandhi University of Health Sciences. Some of these baccalaureate colleges are accredited with the status of a deemed university. There are 187 engineering, 289 Polytechnic, 39 medical and 44 dental colleges in the state. Udupi, Sringeri, Gokarna and Melkote are well-known places of Sanskrit and Vedic learning. There is a women’s university as well as a kannada University in the state, apart from 3 agricultural universities. A veterinary university has been set up during 2009-10.

30 Revenue Districts of the State are recomposed in 34 educational districts. The thirty districts of the state are grouped into four Educational Divisions with headquarters at Bangalore, Belgaum, Gulbarga and Mysore. Besides two divisions – Belgaum and Gulbarga divisions are having Additional Commissionerates for streamlining of administration.


Elementary Education is provided in the State, viz, LPS with 1 to 5 standards, HPS with 1 to 7 standards and 1 to 8 standards, which also have 1 to 5 LPS attached to them. At the HPS stage, there are schools offering 6 and 7 standards as well as 6 to 8 standards only. In addition, 8th standard facility is provided to children in the high schools of the State for all children who complete the HPS in 1 to 7 and 6 to 7 standards. There is a separate State Based for 1 to 10 schools. There are 60036 schools with State Board. 25950 Government sector schools provide elementary schooling at 1 to 5 LPS stage only, and 34086 Government sector schools are at the HPS stage, which include LPS sections.

Total Number of Govt School in Karnataka


Literacy Rate in karnataka

literacy rate in Karnataka

Sl NoName of the UniversitiesLocationTypeFounded
1Bangalore UniversityBangaloreAffiliating university1886
2University of MysoreMysoreAffiliating university1916
3Karnatak UniversityDharwadAffiliating university1949
4University of Agricultural Sciences, BangaloreBangaloreAgricultural university1964
5Mangalore UniversityMangaloreAffiliating university1980
6Gulbarga UniversityGulbargaAffiliating university1980
7University of Agricultural Sciences, DharwadDharwadAgricultural university1986
8Kuvempu UniversityShankaraghattaAffiliating university1987
9National Law School of India UniversityBangaloreLaw university1992
10Kannada UniversityHampiUniversity Grants Commission1992
11Karnataka State Open UniversityMysoreOpen university1996
12Rajiv Gandhi University of Health SciencesBangaloreUniversity of medical sciences1996
13Visvesvaraya Technological UniversityBelgaumEngineering and architecture university1999
14Karnataka State Women's UniversityBijapurWomen's university2003
15Tumkur UniversityTumkurAffiliating university2004
16Karnataka Veterinary, Animal and Fisheries Sciences UniversityBidarVeterinary university2005
17Davangere UniversityDavanagereAffiliating university2009
18Karnataka State Law UniversityHubliLaw university2009
19Karnataka State Music University, MysoreMysoreMusic university2009
20University of Agricultural Sciences, RaichurRaichurUniversity of agricultural sciences2009
21Rani Channamma University, BelgaumBelgaumAffiliating university2010
22Vijayanagara Sri Krishnadevaraya UniversityBellaryUniversity Grants Commission2010
23University of Horticultural Sciences, BagalkotBagalkotUniversity of horticultural sciences2010
24Karnataka Folklore University, HaveriHaveriFolklore2011
25University of Agricultural and Horticultural Sciences, ShimogaShimogaAgricultural university2013
Sl NoName of the UniversitiesLocationTypeFounded
1Indian Institute of ScienceBangaloreScience and technology university1909
2Manipal Academy of Higher EducationManipalTeaching and research1953
3K.L.E. Academy of Higher Education and ResearchBelgaumMedical1963
4Christ UniversityBangaloreTeaching and research1969
5Jagadguru Sri Shivarathreeshwara UniversityMysoreMedical1973
6National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro SciencesBangaloreNeuroscience university1974
7NITTE UniversityMangaloreMedical1979
8Sri Siddhartha Academy of Higher EducationTumkurMedical and engineering1979
9Sri Devraj Urs Academy of Higher Education and ResearchKolarMedical1986
10B.L.D.E. UniversityBijapurMedical1986
11Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific ResearchBangaloreResearch university1989
12Jain UniversityBangaloreTeaching and research1990
13Yenepoya UniversityMangaloreMedical1991
14International Institute of Information TechnologyBangaloreInformation technology1999
15Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana SamsthanaBangaloreYoga2002
Sl NoName of the UniversitiesLocationTypeFounded
1Alliance UniversityBangalore2010
2Azim Premji UniversityBangalore2010
3PES UniversityBangalore2013
4REVA UniversityBangalore2013
5Presidency UniversityBangalore2013
6M S Ramaiah University of Applied SciencesBangalore2013
7Rai Technology UniversityBangalore2013
Sl NoName of the UniversitiesLocationTypeFounded
1Indian Institute of AstrophysicsBangaloreResearch university1786
2National Institute of Technology SurathkalSurathkalEngineering college1960
3Indian Institute of Management BangaloreBangaloreManagement university1973
4National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro ScienceBangaloreNeuroscience university1974
5Indian Institute of Information TechnologyDharwadIT university2016

Cencus 2011

School/Universities/Colleges/Educational Institutes in Dakshina Kannada/Udupi Districts

Leave a Reply